In recognition for contributions to the sport of Girls Softball, the following journalists have been named Sportsperson of the Year.

Congratulations to the 2017 Sportsperson of the Year!

Alex Kantecki – Northwest Herald/McHenry County Sports

Inductee Newspaper Year of Award
Bob Sakomota Chicago Tribune 2004
Jeffrey S. Profitt DuQuoin Sports 2005
Lonnie Schwindenhammer Peoria Journal Star 2006
Marc Nesseler Moline Daily Dispatch 2007
Fred Kroner Champaign News-Gazette 2008
Dave Kane Springfield State-Journal Register 2009
Rob Laird Kankakee Daily-Journal 2009
Maureen Lynch Northwest Herald Crystal Lake 2010
Brian Nielsen Gazette/Times-Courier Charleston 2010
Tony Baranek Southtown Star- Tinley Park 2011
Terry Todt WSMI – Litchfield 2011
Randy Kindred Bloomington Pantagraph 2012
John Leusch Daily Herald 2012
Joshua Welge Chicago-Sun Times 2014
Adam Duvall Peoria Journal Star 2015
Bill Lidinsky Ottawa Times 2016
Alex Kantecki Northwest Herald/McHenry County Sports 2017